How to Stop worrying and start living…

‘How To Stop Worrying and Start Living’ is a fabulous book by Dale Carnegie which gave me a whole new perspective on life and  some wonderful techniques to quiet my worried mind. I was worried, worried of not doing well in my exams, worried that I might not have a better future, worried that I might disappoint my parents, worried that I might eventually have a nervous breakdown, worried about everything that I was eventually living my life in the future filled with uncertainty until I read this quote by Thomas Carlyle.

Our main business in life is not to see what lies dimly at a distance, but to do what lies clearly at hand.

Some of the techniques that I learnt from that book to conquer worry are :

1)When we start in the morning, there are hundreds of tasks which we feel that we must accomplish that day, but if we do not take them one at a time and let them pass through the day slowly and evenly, as do the grains of sand passing through the narrow neck of the hourglass, then we are bound to break our physical or mental structure.

  • So remember, no matter how many tasks you gotta finish in a day, do it one at a time without worrying about the next.

2)If you feel that you are stuck in a very problematic situation and cannot help but worry about it, applying this 3 step method might crowd out your mind from worries.

  • Step 1:Ask yourself, “What is the worst that can possibly happen as a consequence of this problem?”
  • Step 2:Prepare to accept the worst possible scenario mentally,if necessary.
  • Step 3:Then calmly devote your time and energy in taking some actions to improve upon the worst.

The above shared methods are only from a few initial pages from the book which helped me manage my worries.It would be incredibly difficult to share the wisdom I have gained from that book in this short blog. The way Dale Carnegie puts all those real life examples of chronic worriers and the method they used to overcome it is simply fabulous. Those beautiful quotes in between which would instantly motivate you to throw all your worries are extremely marvelous. So I leave the rest of work to you to read this book and lead a life free from worries.

Remember this – ” The lord may forgive us our sins, but the nervous system doesn’t.” So take care of your mind, nurture it and don’t let the weeds take root. Stay calm and read “How to stop worrying and start living.”

With lots of love, With you on this journey, Madhusudhanr.

11 thoughts on “How to Stop worrying and start living…

      1. well, I had found this quote appealing………. “I realize now that people are not thinking about you and me or caring what is said about us. They are thinking about themselves—before breakfast, after breakfast, and right on until ten minutes past midnight. They would be a thousand times more concerned about a slight headache of their own than they would about the news of your death or mine.”

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on Coach Paul and commented:
    This is an excellent review of some of the worry principles in Dale Carnegie’s book, How To Stop Worrying and Start Living. As a business manager once pointed out to me in one of my classes, this is an excellent book on business management and controlling your resources, both physical and mental. You highlighted this beautifully in your first quote from Thomas Carlyle.

    We can only act on one “item” at a time, and only on what lies within reach. There’s always a case to be made for long term planning. But once a decision is reached, you must act decisively and completely.

    Thank you for your review and insights. Live well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

